In astrology, the 12 Zodiac signs are a loose guide to personality traits, which are a reflection of the behavior, attitude, passion, strengths, and weaknesses of people under each classification. They can be used for self-improvement, growth, entertainment, and fun!

Individuals are associated with a symbol—or a sign—depending on the date and month on which they were born. The 12 signs are Aries, Taurus, Gemini, Cancer, Leo, Virgo, Libra, Scorpio, Sagittarius, Capricorn, Aquarius, and Pisces.

These signs fall into elemental classifications of water (Cancer, Scorpio, Pisces); air (Gemini, Libra, Aquarius); fire (Aries, Leo, Sagittarius); and earth (Taurus, Virgo, Capricorn). These four elements have perceived underpinnings in their interaction with the 12 Zodiac signs.


Credit: BlackJack3D / iStockPhoto

People who fall under this horoscope are those born between March 20 and April 20, and the representative symbol is the ram. This Zodiac sign represents people who are bold, courageous, ambitious, inquisitive, independent, natural leaders, and individuals who have a deep respect for justice. The negative characteristics of this group include aggression, selfishness, inconsistency, bad temperament, and pushy characteristics.


Credit: BlackJack3D / iStockPhoto

Taureans are born between April 20 and May 20, under the bull. The characteristics are dedication, trustworthiness, and dependency compared to the negative traits like resistance to change and stubbornness. The bull signifies persistence and high energy, which propagates an endurance that extends beyond high patience levels.


Credit: BlackJack3D / iStockPhoto

This zodiac class depicts twins as the symbol and consists of people born between May 21 and June 20. These individuals are agile, open to change, intelligent, have excellent communication skills, are insightful, and possess a readiness to make conversation. Within this category, their behaviors are inconsistent, they like to over-stress or amplify situations and information, and they are deceptive, scheming, dramatic, and extremely talkative.


Credit: BlackJack3D / iStockPhoto

Birthdays of people under Cancer run from June 21 to July 20, and the symbol is the crab. The traits of members include compassion, healing, cultivating, reassuring, understanding, and incredibly loving. However, the same people display clingy behavior, passive aggression, moodiness, and indirect expressions, which hinder effective interaction.


Credit: BlackJack3D / iStockPhoto

The representation sign is the lion, and the birth dates run from July 21 to August 20. Their association with the sun means that Leos introduce warmth to an interaction or bring a relationship to life. Hence, this group values relationships, and their charisma can charm many people into becoming their friends. Leos are also fearless, protective, fun, exhibit leadership, and are very generous, which parallels their inclination to dictatorship, stubbornness, and controlling and bragging behavior.


Credit: BlackJack3D / iStockPhoto

The virgin is the zodiac symbol that describes people born between August 21 and September 20. People in this category come off as organized, investigative, rational, meek, modest, and responsible. They have an excellent memory and research skills, which makes it possible to be rational and analytical. This makes them an excellent addition to a discussion group. However, they can prove to be annoying due to their obsessive behavior, desire to make everything perfect, criticalness, and an extreme keenness to detail.


Credit: BlackJack3D / iStockPhoto

Represented by the scales, Libras have their birthdays between September 20 and October 20. Members of this group have dignity, are easygoing, subtle, and charming despite their indecisive traits and hypocritical and gullible attitudes.


Credit: BlackJack3D / iStockPhoto

Depicted by the scorpion, this zodiac sign describes people born between October 21 and November 20. Beyond the passionate, sensitive, expressive, and sacrificial characteristics, this group also displays envious, distrustful, malicious, and possessive behavior.


Credit: BlackJack3D / iStockPhoto

The centaur (or an archer) is the representative symbol for Sagittarius, for people born between November 21 and December 21. This is a hopeful group due to their open-mindedness, and are bubbly, lucky, possess high moral standards, and are versatile. Negative aspects include sluggishness and being fidgety, irresponsible, and greedy.


Credit: BlackJack3D / iStockPhoto

The symbol for Capricorn is the goat. This group is talented and values stability, strategy, tolerance, meticulousness, and responsibility irrespective of their negativity, rigidity, ruthlessness, and melancholic and cynical traits. Capricorns are born between December 21 and January 20.


Credit: BlackJack3D / iStockPhoto

The Aquarius sign is also known as the Water Bearer, based on the symbol, and is comprised of individuals born between January 21 and February 20. The group reflects inherent characteristics such as intellectual or smart, generous, friendly, creative, and humane. The negative traits associated with this sign are irresponsible, emotionally distant, absent-minded, and impersonal.


Credit: BlackJack3D / iStockPhoto

This Zodiac sign is the fish and signifies the temperament and attitudes of people born between February 21 and March 20. Pisces is romantic, thoughtful, sensitive, inventive, and empathetic, which complements the problematic elements of being unrealistic, docile, self-pitying, and needy.

Cover image credit: vchal / iStock